Burt maintains an active role in the local community, and his accomplishments in the Texas Legislature have earned him recognition from statewide organizations.

Burt presides over the Texas House of Representatives


  • Legislator of the Year (2001) by the Texas Purchasing Agents Association
  • Legislator Hall of Fame (2003) by the Texas Association of Realtors
  • Outstanding Legislator Award (2007) by the Texas Land Title Association
  • Fighter for Free Enterprise Award (2007) from the Texas Association
    of Business
  • Texas Monthly Honorable Mention of 80th Session Best Legislators (2007)


  • Denton County Citizens Budget Advisory Committee, 1993-94
  • Carrollton-Farmers Branch Rotary Club, 1987-96
  • Charter Director of Boys & Girls Club of Denton County, Inc.
  • Board of Directors of Metrocrest Division of Home & Apartment Builders Association, 1989-92
  • Lewisville Chamber of Commerce
  • Frisco Chamber of Commerce
  • Metrocrest Chamber of Commerce
  • Coppell Chamber of Commerce


  • Texas House of Representatives, 1995-Present
  • Member of Republican Caucus - Texas House of Representatives
  • Chair of Republican Caucus Task Force on Business & Eco Development, 2000
  • Member of Republican Caucus Policy Committee, 1999
  • Member of The Conservative Coalition - Texas House of Representatives
  • Member of Pachyderm Republican Club of Denton County
  • Member of Denton County Republican Men’s Club
  • Texas House of Representatives Committees:
    • Chairman of Financial Institutions, 78th & 79th & 80th Legislatures
    • Select Committee on Electric Generation and Environmental Issues (2008)
    • Chairman of Sunset Advisory Commission (2003-2005)
    • Business and Industry – 74th, 75th, 76th, 77th, 78th, 79th, 80th Legislatures
    • Member of Sunset Advisory Commission (2001-2003)
    • Financial Institutions – 75th, 76th, 77th as Vice Chair
    • Economic Development – 74th Legislature
    • Local & Consent Calendars – 76th & 77th Legislatures
    • Select Committee on Constitutional Revisions – 76th & 77th Legislatures
    • Chair of Business & Industry Interim Subcommittee on Telemarketing, 2000
    • Chair of Financial Institutions Subcommittee on Home Equity Lending, 1997